What Is It?

Is this an Aeonium arboreum? Your guess is as good as mine!

Is this an Aeonium arboreum? Your guess is as good as mine!

The more I look around, the more I realize I have no clue what things are. I’m talking specifics here, not generalities. Of course I know that something is a plant or animal or rock, etc.; the problem comes when I try to actually identify such things specifically. Take this plant. I’m pretty sure it’s a succulent, but the exact type of succulent is still a mystery. I searched around the internet for almost two hours trying to identify it for sure. My best guess is that it’s Aeonium arboreum, also called the tree aeonium. This website gave me the best clue about it.  I did try using Google’s reverse image lookup. That told me that …. tada — it was a plant. Thanks. Thanks, a lot. So, even though I have always had respect for scientists, that respect grew even more. How they can possibly catalog and identify all of the billions of things in existence is a marvel. And finding a species is sometimes not enough, as there can be hybrids or variants to add to the challenge. Happily, I can still enjoy such things even without knowing exactly what they are!

Leave a Reply

