Caterpillar Close-Up

This caterpillar looks like a fuzzy friend, but is it really?

This caterpillar looks like a fuzzy friend, but is it really?

I’m sure this fuzzy, little caterpillar had no thoughts of being immortalized in a photo the day this was taken. It probably still has no clue of its “fame.” That’s OK. Nature often provides the best subjects to photograph. Once I got the photo, I wondered what type of caterpillar it was. Sadly, as with the snails, there seem to be so many in the world that it’s difficult to identify individuals. I found a fascinating interactive identification guide at DiscoverLife.org, but I didn’t find any caterpillars that I thought matched my photo. And in researching caterpillars I was surprised to learn that some can sting and be toxic. That was news to me! Being a fuzzy fellow, this one likely became a moth when it matured. Why do I say that? Because caterpillars either become moths or butterflies, and butterfly caterpillars are never fuzzy, as noted at the Purdue University website.

Leave a Reply

